Throughout Southern California, each DUI arrest will result in two ensuring processes. The first will involve the DMV, in the form of a DMV Hearing, also known as a Driver Safety Administrative Per Se (APS). The second component will involve the California criminal court. The DMV Hearing is limited exclusively to your driving privileges, whereas the California criminal court system can impose a variety of criminal penalties (fines, jail time, community service, probation, alcohol and drug education classes, etc.) if you are convicted of a DUI.
Although the criminal court component can take several months to cycle through, there is a very short window of time (10 days from the date of arrest) to request the DMV hearing. If you do not request a DMV hearing within 10 days, your driver’s license will automatically be suspended 30 days after the day of your arrest. Because of this, it is critical that you secure a top criminal defense attorney as soon as possible to begin vigorously defending your rights. Contact Action Defense Law today to schedule a free consultation today.